Gedenkstätte für die in der Shoah ermordeten Juden Österreichs / Memorial to the austrian jews who were murdered in the Shoah


The Initiative Group for the Memorial Project had set itself the task, to gather prominent Austrians who would not only commit themselves to the realisation of the Memorial, but who were also in a strategic position to decidedly further the Project with the Authorities in the City of Vienna and with the Austrian Government.

The following prominent Austrians became members of the Proponents Committee.

Dr. Erhard Busek
Deputy-Chancellor of Austria 1991-1995
Chairman of the ÖVP 1991-1995
Director of the Institute for the Danube Areas and Central Europe

City Councillor David Ellensohn
Chairman of the Green Party in the City of Vienna

Dr. Franz Fischler
President of the European Forum Alpbach
Minister for Agriculture and Forestry 1989-1994
European Union Agriculture Commissioner 1995-2004

Univ.Prof. Dr. Eric R. Kandel
Professor and Director, Kavli Institute for Brain Science
Columbia University Dept. of Neuroscience,
Nobel Prize 2000. Honorary Citizen of Vienna 2009

Prof. Albrecht A. Konecny (1942 – 2017)
Member of the Bundesrat (Senate)

Abg. z. NR Kai Jan Krainer
Deputy in Parliament and Finance Spokesman for the SPÖ

Dr. Ernst Löschner
Founder and Honorary President of the Alpine Peace Crossing Project
and of APC – HELP, Association for Social Assistance
Golden Award of Honor from the Republic of Austria 2002

Dr. Robert Menasse
Austrian Author, Playwright, Publicist

Univ.Prof. Dr. Anton Pelinka
Professor Emeritus at the University of Innsbruck
Political Scientist and Author

Dr. Johanna Rachinger
Director General, Austrian National Library

Ari Rath (1925 – 2017)
Formerly Editor-in-Chief of the Jerusalem Post,
Author and Publicist
Golden Medal of Honor from the City of Vienna

Univ.Prof. DDr. Oliver Rathkolb
Director, Institute of Contemporary History, University of Vienna
Chairperson, Scientific Council for the House of History

Univ.Prof. Dr. Anton Zeilinger
Professor of Physics, University of Vienna
Scientific Director, IQOQI
Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Nanophysics
President, the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW)